Key Statistics About Charleston South Carolina Auto Insurance
Drivers in the state of South Carolina are required to purchase both liability and uninsured motorist coverage in order to drive legally in Charleston and elsewhere. The state’s Department of Motor Vehicles has set a minimum coverage level of $25,000 per person for any bodily injury sustained in an accident, and a minimum of $50,000 for all individuals harmed during the course of one accident. These amounts cover such things as medical expenses, pain and suffering and lost wage claims. Property damage to vehicles as well as such property in the vacinity of an accident such as fences, walls and buildings, has been set at a minimum requirement of $25,000.
Protection Against Uninsured Motorists
South Carolina also requires that automobile drivers be covered by an uninsured motorist policy to protect themselves in the event of accident with a driver who has failed to obtain the required insurance. This is important coverage that can be used by the policy holder in the event they are the victim of a hit and run driver or sustain injury or property damage due to the actions of a driver who has no insurance. Charleston, with a population of almost 125,000 and the fastest growing metropolitan area in the state, has the second-highest incidence of automobile accidents in South Carolina.
According to records kept by the South Carolina Department of Public Safety, there were almost 700 car crashes in the state in 2012 that involved fatalities, with 735 individuals killed as a result of trauma or injuries received as a result of an automobile accident. The city of Charleston and surrounding Charleston County has proven to be among the most dangerous areas of the state for automobile drivers. Recent statistics show that more than 4100 car accidents involved property damage, and almost 3200 accidents involved injuries, 25 of those fatalities due to driving under the influence of alcohol. One-third of the fatalities in Charleston were due to the fact that drivers and passengers involved in a collision failed to buckle up their seatbelt.
Uninsured motorists in Charleston and throughout South Carolina continue to make the state rank as a dangerous place to drive, with almost one out of 10 drivers uninsured according to the Insurance Research Council. Although five years ago South Carolina ranked the third most dangerous place to drive in America, and had more than one out of four drivers uninsured, that figure has since dropped to 9 percent, which is now less than the national average of 14% who get behind the wheel uninsured. Charleston residents and others in South Carolina who fail to verify that they have insurance coverage or have paid a $550 fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles to prove financial responsibility in lieu of having insurance, face having their driver’s license as well as their vehicle registration suspended in addition to being hit with fines of several hundred dollars.